Go Big. Be You.

The note above my desk says :

Go Big. Be You.

Step It Up.

Being Small:  Game Over.

It’s a birthday card to myself.  It helps me to remember where I am on this journey of self-knowing.

It’s there to remind me that I promised to answer The Birthday Question in public this year.  I turned 49 almost a month ago, and I promised on my birthday that I would tell you the most significant thing I’ve learned in the past year.

And then, I suddenly stopped blogging.  Funny, that.

You see, the most important thing I learned this past year is that it is time for me to renounce timidity in my life. Forty-nine is my last chance to let go of a lifelong habit of living small. I have lived a Pretty Good Life, but not nearly as bold a strong a life as there is in me. This is the year that I am called to let go of smallness of my own making; it is time to choose a big, fat, juicy life. While I still can.

There’s something about this that I find terrifying.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Laura  On November 24, 2010 at 1:07 am

    I am glad to know I am not the only one who struggles with the timidity issue. But I must say that your timid life would be my most courageuos!

  • Intentional50  On November 24, 2010 at 4:29 am

    Someone smarter than me once said “Courage is not the absence of fear. Courage is feeling the fear — and doing it anyway.”

    Here’s to both of us finding things we want so badly that we are willing to go for them even when we are afraid.

  • Pedal Paradise  On November 29, 2010 at 11:53 am

    Yes.

    Isn’t it funny that you feel the fear inside, and other people see ‘brave’. I see myself as shy, but others see…

    I want to get to the place of not letting the fear hold me back.

    My 46th birthday is later this week. Today, I give myself permission to plan an excellent day of celebrating me!

  • Felicia  On March 10, 2012 at 3:50 am

    You made it! Thanks for journaling your journey… stepping out, stretching beyond those measures of comfort… and revealing the learnings, joys, and pains of each experience. You’re amazing… and have inspired me to try this exercise as well. It’s remarkable to learn that WE, humans, share some of the same ideas about living, getting older. Thanks again for sharing!

Tell me what you think about this:

